Google Apps Marketplace adds EDU category

posted Jan 25, 2011, 10:33 AM by Eric Curts   [ updated Jan 26, 2011, 4:01 AM ]
Although the Google Apps Marketplace has always had many tools that are useful to education (we have used Aviary and Creately), they have now added an apps category specifically for education, titled "EDU".  There are about 20 apps in there now including gradebooks and portfolio makers and such.  It will be exciting to see what education-specific products come out.

Google is also offering some webinars to help people get the most out of the new education offerings in the marketplace:

Manage your school in the cloud with the Google Apps Marketplace
Featuring classroom management tools Haiku and LearnBoost
Wednesday, February 2, 2011
10:00 a.m. PST / 1:00 p.m. EST

Help students learn more effectively with the Google Apps Marketplace
Featuring web-based learning tools Grockit, BrainPOP, and DreamBox
Wednesday, February 2, 2011
4:00 p.m. PST / 7:00 p.m. EST

For full details on this story, check of this post on the Official Google Enterprise Blog and watch this video from Google below:


What Marketplace apps have you installed, or look promising?  Let us know in the discussion forum.
Comments